In addition to regular bird walks, bird field trips and monthly educational programs, Santa Barbara Audubon Society has special events like the Christmas Bird Count and the Winter Bird Count for Kids!

Friday Bird Walks for the Fall of 2017

Join Jack Sanford for some great birding and fun time on his Friday bird walks this fall

Every 2nd and 4th Friday (usually) Jack hosts a casual and fun two hour walk at one of the south coast’s birding hot spots.  For beginners, this is a great opportunity to see the birds and find out where to bird. For the more experienced birder, here is you chance to share your knowledge and skills. Everyone is welcome. Cost is FREE!

Coming this Fall

Toro Canyon Park: Friday, September 8, 2017, 8:30 am - 10:30 am

Honda Valley Open Space: Friday, September 22, 2017, 8:30 am - 10:30 am

Hidden Valley Park: Friday, October 13, 2017, 8:30 am - 10:30 am

Rocky Nook Park: Friday, October 27, 2017, 8:30 am - 10:30 am

Stevens Park: Friday, November 10, 2017, 8:30 am - 10:30 am

Winchester Canyon: Friday, November 24, 2017, 8:30 am - 10:30 am

Field Trip: Oso Flaco Lake

Saturday, August 5, 2017, 9:00 am - 11:30 am (7:00 a.m. at Sears car pool location)

Just beyond the northern boundary of Santa Barbara County lies this rare and unique ecosystem. Join us on a leisurely 2 mile walk while we spot birds and enjoy the beauty of this area.

… Continue Reading

Field Trip: Hollister Ranch

Saturday, June 10, 2017, 8:00 am - 1:00 pm

Hollister Ranch is a large privately held area of ranchetts north of Gaviota on the coast and into the foot hills. This pristine coastal area is not something to miss. Seize the day and and see for your self the wonders this area holds.

… Continue Reading

Friday Bird Walks for the Summer of 2017

Join Jack Sanford for some great birding and fun time on his Friday bird walks this Summer!

FBW-JackEvery 2nd and 4th Friday (usually) Jack hosts a casual and fun two hour walk at one of the south coast’s birding hot spots.  For beginners, this is a great opportunity to see the birds and find out where to bird. For the more experienced birder, here is you chance to share your knowledge and skills. Everyone is welcome. Cost is FREE!

This Spring:

La Casa de Maria: Friday, June 9, 2017, 8:30 am - 10:30 am

Tabano Hollow Open Space: Friday, June 23, 2017, 8:30 am - 10:30 am

Atascadero Creek: Friday, July 14, 2017, 8:30 am - 10:30 am

San Marcos Foothills Preserve: Friday, July 28, 2017, 8:30 am - 10:30 am

Lake Los Carneros: Friday, August 11, 2017, 8:30 am - 10:30 am

Carpinteria Salt Marsh Nature Park: Friday, August 25, 2017, 8:30 am - 10:30 am